Login

Username:

Password:

Join the community

Don't have a forum account yet? We need you to join the discussion! It only takes a couple of minutes to sign up.

Recently, part of the EF community has migrated to the Soccer Shouts forums.

Sports is so expensive here...

I used to think Australia was a sports mad country. But sports is like a luxury good here! You would think sports should be available to everyone and be subsidized or something.

I have to pay $325 per season to the FFV for one season. And thats also I am lucky that I am a university student and get a discount. Other people have to about $450. That is a lot! I was even fine with this...since you are paying for the whole season and get to play a lot of games.

Then UniGames comes around. I so wanted to go to Geelong for this year's Southern Uni games...but it costs about $350-400! That is crazy! :( And the tournament is only for three days....

Anyway just wanted to vent...what do you guys think?

I also live down under, it's an absolute rip off in Australia.

Here's an article Craig Foster wrote which I found very good - http://theworldgame.sbs.com.au/australi ... me-we-love

I have to pay $200 just for rego', which isn't too bad, but for poorer families like mine it's crazy. If I want the team shorts and socks, I'll have to pay another $40 all up. Then they sell merchandise which is a rip, give us a free bag/jacket or something, where's the generosity?

That's just for my local amateur team, if I want to play rep'/semi-pro, the team rego' costs $1050, then another $600 if you want to play in the pre-season cup. You have to make your own way to all the games, on your own petrol, no team bus. You don't even know if your going to play a full game in the whole season. I know someone who payed all the rego', and played only one game the whole season, and sat on the bench the other 15 or so games (sucks to be a reserve keeper).